How To Obtain Your License and Become A Concrete Contractor In Mississippi
The Mississippi State Board of Contractors is the agency that handles the review and approval of your contractor’s license. The state also requires that you pass an exam, and you will need to register the name and structure of your business with the Board of Contractors. This includes tax ID numbers, workers’ compensation (if you employ other contractors), general liability insurance, and bond insurance. Allow us to explain more about who needs a license and the information you need to submit to the Board.
Commercial: This allows you to take on projects that exceed $50,000 in labor and material costs. Having a commercial license also means that you can undergo construction, reconstruction, repair or maintenance on any building or public/private project.
Residential: Residential projects over $50,000 in cost will require that you possess a Residential Building License. Any residential remodeling project exceeding $10,000 will also require this particular license.
Do You Need?
- You will need to fill out the application form and submit it to the Mississippi State Board of Contractors. This will include a $200 application fee along with an additional $50 fee per classification. You will then receive all the relevant information to sign up for your exams – this includes scheduling, topics covered in the exam, study materials, and additional resources.
- You will then need to take and pass your exams (a Business and Law exam as well as a trade exam).
- Once you pass your exams, your information will be reviewed by the Board before approving your application. It will take about 7 to 10 days to receive your license.
- Application Fees – $200 plus another $50 for every classification
- Exam Fees – $120 (or $50 if you obtain a waiver)
- Licensing Fees – $400 per commercial license including one classification (additional classifications are $100) and $50 per residential license including one classification (additional classifications are $100)
- Alabama General Contractors Board
- Alabama Electrical Board
- Alabama Board of Heating and Air Conditioning Contractors
- Arkansas Contractor Licensing Board
- Georgia Board of Residential and General Contractors
- Louisiana Licensing Board for Contractors
- North Carolina Electrical Contractors Board
- South Carolina Board for Licensing Contractors
- Tennessee Board for Licensing General Contractors
- Watch the instructional video produced by the state of Mississippi which will help increase your likelihood of approval
- Fill out your application, and then sign and notarize it
- If you are starting an LLC or corporation, you will need to register your business with the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office
- Obtain your income tax ID number or a federal income tax ID number from the state of Mississippi
- You will need to provide proof of general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $300,000 per occurrence and $600,000 aggregate
- You must also have a contractor’s license bond. The cost of the bond will vary according to the type of license you possess.
- If you employ five or more people, you will need to provide proof of workers’ compensation insurance
- You will also need to show proof of employment (a check stub or W2 form with the state of Mississippi)
- You must provide a financial statement prepared and audited by an independent accountant. Major classifications will require you to have a net worth of $50,000. All other licenses require you to have a $20,000 net worth.
- You will need to pay the submission fee when filing your application (which is non-refundable)
- After you submit your application, you will need to take and complete your licensing exam