How To Obtain A Contracting License In Alaska

You want to pursue a career as a concrete contractor in the state of Alaska, but before getting to work, you need to obtain a license. Sounds simple enough, right? You want to be viewed as legitimate in the eyes of the law. However, undergoing the process of obtaining a license is going to take a little effort. It involves plenty of paperwork, and if you don’t have a lot of time on your hands, it can be a struggle to research the entire process. That being said, we want to help make things a little bit easier.

General Requirements

For Licensure

The process in Alaska is fairly straightforward – you only need a license if you’re working as a contractor, handyman, home improvement renovator, and other related industries. However, if you fail to obtain your license, then you run the risk of criminal penalties (this includes jail time and hefty fines). These laws are in place to protect people from scams and financial exploitation.
When applying for your license, you will need to know the type that is most suitable for you in terms of the work you perform. Take a good look at the different licenses and make sure that you are choosing the right one. Alaska identifies the following categories: Mechanical, Handyman, Specialty, Residential and General Contractors.

All the relevant forms you will find on the official website for the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development. Each application will require different information and they will also include all the necessary licensing fees. With any application, you will need to submit the following information:

  • Proof of an Alaska business license
  • Your Registered Tax Identification Number
  • Proof of liability insurance
  • Proof of worker’s compensation insurance
  • $100 for in-state applications and $250 for out-of-state applications



Additional licensing will come down to the type of work you perform and where you live. For example, if you live in Anchorage, you will also need to obtain a license from the municipality. We recommend that you contact your local city council to determine if they require you to obtain additional licensing. If you can’t find the information you are looking for on a website, then you can always contact a local contractor to learn more.

Submit Your Application and Undergo

The Licensing Exam

Exams are administered through the Alaska Craftsman Home Program (ACHP) and PSI Online. You can easily search the PSI exam dates online and sign up for a time that works best for you. If you have any questions about the exam that you need to take, then you can contact PSI Customer Service at 1-800-733-9267. You will also need to submit your application by mailing it to the State Office Building or you can email the Contractor Licensing department directly.
required documents



You’re currently underway in meeting all the requirements to obtain a license. However, as we mentioned earlier, you will need proof of general liability insurance and workers’ compensation. You need to get this done right away before you can begin to undergo the licensing process. Getting
insurance is always the most important step in starting and running a business.

Having an insurance plan protects you and your employees from a wide range of circumstances while also limiting your risk. When you enter the contracting business, you can expect there to be accidents, potential injuries, or damage to property – such as your tools or vehicles. Make sure that you are choosing the insurance plan that is right for you and your crew of workers. This will make a huge difference in promoting the longevity of your business.

Why Is A

License Necessary?

A license is going to benefit you in many ways. It will allow you to build your reputation and credibility, which in turn will make you a lot more marketable and reliable. This will lead to higher-paying jobs and help grow your influence in the local community. You are also protecting yourself from all sorts of liability issues.

We also want to touch on some of the legal drawbacks of the matter. If you are providing service as a general contractor without a license, then you could end up pleading guilty to a Class B misdemeanor. This could result in jail time and you will also have to pay a hefty fine. Obtaining your license is ultimately going to prevent you from getting in a lot of trouble and allow you to grow your business.

required documents
Happy Clients


Happy Clients
Projects Done


Projects Done


Cups of Coffee


Cups of Coffee